BF-109

This weekend I was stuck at home with nothing to do. I knew I couldn’t spend the whole weekend sitting on the couch watching TV, so I got out my phone and opened up safari. I clicked on the search bar and typed in “What to do when bored”. The page loaded, then I preceded to click on the first link that popped up. It brought me to a list containing ninety six different activities. I started reading, the first one was go for a walk. This interested me, for the beach is only half a block from my house. I could go the beach and walk down the coast a ways towards summerland. But after more consideration, I decided that a walk was not what I needed. I needed something creative to do. I needed to construct something material. Suddenly, I had a thought, I got off the couch, walked towards the front door, and stepped outside. I hopped in my car and drove all the way out to Goleta. There, I pulled into a parking lot off Hollister Avenue and walked through the front door of a hobby shop. I walked down the aisles, and from a shelf I pulled a small box.

It was a balsa wood and tissue paper model plane. A Messerschmitt BF-109 of the Luftwaffe, the german air force in WWII. This plane interested me greatly, for I have always had a great admiration for the design of planes in both world wars. I walked up to the register, and payed for the plane along with a ten second epoxy for putting it together.

As soon as I got home, I gathered all the supplies I would need to put this plane together and headed for a place where I would not be disturbed. I unboxed all the pieces and started organizing. Several hours passed by in the blink of an eye, and before long, everything was completely disorganized again.

Despite the mess, I continued to build. This no doubt is a very good way to pass the time. By the end of the day I had done everything but painted it. The finished product was not perfect, but I was proud of what I did in seven hours.

 

Leave a Reply

