Sick Day

Last week, while I was down in LA for my great uncle’s birthday celebration, I contracted some sort of fever that gave me a sore throat, stuffed up nose, and a series of skull splitting migraines. So the question was what was I supposed to do when I felt like this. The first day I felt sick, I woke up, got out of bed, got a massive head rush and collapsed back onto my bed. I then slowly got up and hobbled over to my bathroom. I turned on the shower and stepped in. The hot water made me feel a little better, and the steam made breathing easier.

Then I made my way down stairs to look for some DayQuil. I walked down the hallway running adjacent to the entryway until I made it to the main downstairs bathroom. I opened the door and then open the door to the medicine cabinet inside the bathroom.

It took me a while to shuffle through all the things before I found what I was looking for. I grabbed the DayQuil and walked over to the kitchen where I poured myself a glass of water and 30ml of DayQuil. I downed the medicine, trying not to focus on the awful taste and then immediately chased it with the water.

The DayQuil made it easier to breath, but did nothing for my soar throat. So I checked the back of the bottle and it said the active ingredient was acetaminophen. This meant it was safe to take Advil since it’s active ingredient is Ibuprofen. I swallowed the Advil and then retired to the downstairs TV room where I proceeded to lie on the couch with my dog. I did not want to go anywhere, so I spent the rest of my day lying half awake on the couch watching Star Trek Voyager.

All in all, there were about a thousand things I would have rather done that day than sit on the couch including going to school. It has been over a full week since I started feeling sick, and even now I am still feeling pretty awful.

Leave a Reply

